Ann Adams 4792

This is a mail-order pattern, which are typically difficult to accurately date. If there is a model wearing the dress, hairstyle can be a good clue, but since there isn’t one on this pattern, anywhere in the 50s will do. Other than adding 2 inches to the side seams, this one needed no other alterations. It fits like a dream. I decided to try my hand at a different type of pocket, since this skirt is a 6 panel skirt. For a first attempt, it’s pretty good. If I do this again, I will make the opening higher. For some reason that I can’t put my finger on, this dress doesn’t look very vintage to me. I like that it fits well and I’ll probably make it again, but I’ll have to think about how to add some more vintage touches.

As for future projects, I think I’m getting tired of sumer things. I need to make a dress for a special party at the end of the month, but other than that, I’m starting to think of cooler weather dresses. I can’t wait!

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ann Adams 4792

  1. Anna says:

    Nice work! Are you saying that to grade it up from a 14 all you did was add straight out to the side seams? That seems so simple! It’s very flattering on you and you got a great fit.

  2. andreahg says:

    That works for me! I’m very small, 5″1′ with a high waist and petite everything else, meaning small shoulders, short arms, ect. When I use modern patterns, I usually use a size that is 3-4 sizes smaller than my bust to get it to fit my shoulders. What’s great about 50’s patterns is that unless it’s a junior pattern, I don’t even need to do a FBA.

Leave a Reply

