Marian Martin 9181, maybe not

I generally lean toward 1950’s fashions. Not only do the styles of that decade fit me well, I really like them. Occasionally, I come across a 1940’s pattern that I really like. Marian Martin 9181 is one of those dresses. When I first saw this on eBay, I knew I had to make it in some gingham I had leftover from another project. How sweet! Well, today I graded it to my size and cut it out. I didn’t have as much of the gingham as I thought, but decided to use it for a mock-up. Hmmm, I’m not really happy with it. It makes my mannequin look thick through the middle and she’s a bit trimmer in the tummy than I am. The finished dress would have waist ties, but pulling it in doesn’t really help much. I’m going to think about it for another week or so, but I think I will end up putting it in the Fedora Lounge classifieds. It will look much better on someone less curvy than I am.


About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marian Martin 9181, maybe not

  1. Roxanne says:

    Mannequin question!!

    You said that “she” is a bit trimmer in the tummy. Does that mean that the mannequin isn’t your exact sizes every where? How do you fit to it if it doesn’t represent you exactly?

    I’ve been considering getting a mannequin, but I have ZERO idea how to use it. I’ve never actually seen one up close before! I’ll have to do a search and see what I learn.

    Roxanne

Leave a Reply

