Current work in progress

The pattern is a mail-order pattern with not many details. There is no brand name or publisher listed anywhere. I plan on making this in a small check navy gingham that is already in my stash. I’m really struggling with the fit. I think this is partly because it is the smallest pattern I’ve ever used. It’s a vintage size 13 which means that it is a junior pattern and fits a 32in bust.
Here is the muslin.

It looks like I need to lower the waistline and adjust the placement of the bust gathers. Also, the neckline is significantly higher than in the pattern illustration. I haven’t decided if I’m going to change it or not. So far, the biggest problem is the shawl collar.
It is not well drafted and you can see all the wrinkles where I had to ease the collar into the back neck area. I need to take it apart, really look at the pieces and figure out why it isn’t working. At this point, I think the collar is too long for the back neck, but I haven’t messed with it yet.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Current work in progress

  1. barbe says:

    These were Anne Adams patterns, I have a few of them. I LOVE this style, but grading up from that little to my Amazon size would drive me bonkers! Kudos to you for doing it so well!

Leave a Reply

