New Outfit

The blouse is Simplicity 3777, a T&T (tried and true) blouse pattern that I’ve made several times. It is a cotton shirting from my local Hancock Fabrics. The skirt is Simplicity 0517, a vintage reissue, in a heavy linen from http://www.denverfabrics.com. I’ve made this skirt a few times, but this time I added in-seam pockets and it changed the fit. The fabric is heavy enough that I should have used a lining fabric for the pockets. To my eye, it makes the skirt a bit lumpy at the hip. I’ve made this outfit a few times, in other fabrics, and have always been happy with it. For some reason, this feels a bit matronly to me. I’ll probably wear it church, but no where else.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Outfit

  1. emme says:

    Oh, so cute!

    ~Emily

  2. Emily says:

    Hello!
    I found your website through the sensibility forum. It’s so inspiring to see you sewing a vintage wardrobe! Your creations are beautiful.

    Emily

  3. Roxanne says:

    I’m reading through your blog carefully and wanted to know if you’ve sewn the TOP that is pictured on the skirt pattern you used. That looks like it would be very flattering with the two colors. The sleeves are very interesting, too.

    If you HAVE sewn it, could you post a picture of you modeling it?

    Roxanne

Leave a Reply

