Advance 6391 progress

I’ve been a busy little bee.  Having become a devotee of http://www.dressaday.com/dressaday.html, I have started putting pockets in all my dresses.  In-seam pockets are the easiest to put in, but can be fussy in getting them to lie smoothly.  It can also be somewhat confusing to put in a side seam zipper with the in-seam pocket.  The first step is to finish both the pocket raw edge and the skirt raw edge.

The next step is to sew the pocket to the skirt.  First, measure the length of your zipper and only attach the pocket to the skirt below where your zipper will end.

Then sew the front skirt to the back skirt, including the pocket edge.  Then attach the skirt to the bodice.

The install your zipper as normal.

Here it is so far.  All that is left is to hem the skirt and sleeves.  I still haven’t decided if I will make the matching belt.  It’s not as flattering as I would hope.  I think maybe the crossover has too much fabric and it needs shoulder pads.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Advance 6391 progress

  1. Mae says:

    that dress looks so pretty and fun! i love the fabric and the pocket idea. i’ll have to start doing that myself on some dresses! COOL!

  2. Thanks so much for the pocket tutorial!

    The dress looks positively lovely. That fabric you chose really is perfect for it.

  3. Clare says:

    Another adorable vintage blog! 🙂 I’ll join in on the chorus, and compliment you on the lovely color of fabric that you chose!

Leave a Reply

