Advance 6391

I started this dress last week, so this dress diary won’t be as detailed as I hope future ones will be. This is Advance 6391 which appears to be from 1953. This is the first time I have worked with an unprinted pattern. The big difference in an unprinted pattern is that instead of the pattern pieces being labeled in big, dark ink, they are marked with a series of holes punched to create letters that identify the pieces. I’ve been avoiding unprinted patterns, but it has turned out to be less of a problem than I thought it would be.

I am making view 2, the cross-over bodice. The fabric I’m using is a light weight textured cotton from a local chain fabric store.

This pattern is a vintage size 12 (modern size 8, I think), so I’ve had to scale up. I added 1.5inches to the side seams and another inch in a FBA (full bust adjustment). So far, the bodice fits well.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in dresses. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advance 6391

  1. It’s look smashing so far! I love the fabric you chose. It’s making me itch to sew again.

    I’ve used a couple patterns with just the dotted markings. What I really dislike about those is that they make it necessary for me to unfold the pieces all the way to see if they’re what I want. And if they’re not, I have to fold them all up again (I hate folding pattern pieces!!). With the nice dark ink I can just sort of hold the piece up to the light and see through the folds.

  2. andreahg says:

    You’re right, that is an inconvenience, but so many wonderful designs are in the unprinted patterns.

  3. In other words, we have to learn to live with them… and work with them, too. 😉

  4. emme says:

    Oh, it is looking so nice! I can’t wait to see what else you have up your sleeve…

Leave a Reply

