Simplicity 2154

Here is my patternreview.com review:

Pattern Description: Misses’ & Miss petite 1960’s retro style blouse, skirt, jacket and knit cardigan sewing pattern. Simplicity Vintage Pattern Collection.

Pattern Sizing:6-24

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Not quite. The pattern called for interfacing the bow. I used very light iron-on interfacing, and as you can see, it’s quite a bit stiffer than on the pattern cover. I would recommend omitting the interfacing,

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but if you have basic skills, you won’t really need them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?It’s another great vintage reprint! I love the classic styling. I love that it uses the vintage technique of bias binding on the neck and armscye instead of modern facings.

Fabric Used: 100% cotton gingham from fabric.com.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I did my standard alterations: FBA, sloping shoulders, petite folds above the waist and in the upperchest.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes! The only caveat would be that if you wanted to wear it with a lower rise trouser or skirt, you would need to add length, since vintage tops were drafted to be worn with waist-high or higher trousers and skirts.

Conclusion:
Another winning reprint from Simplicity! With a pair of capris, I feel so Betty Draper from Mad Men! This is the first sleeveless blouse pattern I’ve used that didn’t need adjustment to show off my bra to the world. I can’t wait to try the skirt and knit jacket.

About andreahg

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom to two boys, a cat and two rough collies. I love to sew and knit with vintage patterns, primarly from the WWII era.
This entry was posted in separates. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Simplicity 2154

  1. jrblackwell says:

    That top is super cute.

  2. sdBev says:

    OMG! This is super on you! This is your style!

  3. 1912 Suffragette says:

    I bought that pattern at the last Simplicity sale for the knit cardigan and skirt, thinking I would probably never make the blouse. But! it is so attractive on you, even with the bow sticking out, I can’t wait to try it. You have such a good fashion sense. I would never have looked at that blouse and thought I could put it on my generous body. Love reading your blog always.

  4. Laura says:

    I’m so psyched you’ve already sewn this up! I bought it last week and I have been dreaming of several versions of this top as Fall staples…I was planning on using voile, do you think since it’s so limp that it would benefit from the interfacing?

  5. judy says:

    Love it.. It really looks good on you.. I cant wait to buy my pattern now..thankyou for sharing,Judy

  6. Jen says:

    This is so cute, I really like it and you look great! Might have to make this one myself, especially since it doesn’t display the bra to all. Definite bonus points.

    And the gingham…squeeee!

  7. This is SO cute. I wouldn’t have thought of buying it based on the pattern cover, but your version is so much cuter! Love your fabric choice.

  8. Deb says:

    Super cute and it looks great on you! I’m considering this blouse for my next project. Bought the pattern ages ago.

Leave a comment